Cursive – “Stranded Satellite”


Cursives have launched three singles previously month – “Barricades,” “Black Hole Town,” and “Marigolds,” – which naturally made us suspect that the indie-rock vets had been as much as one thing. Welp, at present they've introduced that they've obtained a complete new album able to go: It’s referred to as Get Fastened and it’ll be out subsequent week. That’s fairly quickly!

It's the band second album in a few years after the band returned from a six yr absence with 2018 's Vitriola , and it was recorded throughout the identical periods as that album. However, as Tim Kasher defined in a letter addressing the album, the band determined to separate the songs Cursive had made into two.

“We’re very pleased with the work we've completed on each Vitriola and Get Fastened , ”He wrote. “In sure methods, they might be thought-about as companion items, however Get Fastened feels as in the event that they had been emancipated from the Vitriola session: further care and a spotlight paid to assist develop an id very a lot its personal.”

To rejoice the album's announcement, the band is sharing one final single earlier than the entire thing is on the market in full. Take heed to “Stranded Satellite” beneath.

Right here’s Kasher’s letter in full:

Hello there! I hope this finds you in good consolation. Get Fastened is a singular album for Cursive, so we thought it finest if I defined its inception to you immediately.

I don’t know what’s been completed with me these previous couple of years, however I had been writing lots of music. Greater than I normally write, which – I suppose – is mostly thought-about 'rather a lot' … That rattling Midwestern work ethic rearing its bossy head. Cursive had not been collaborating for over half a decade, leaving me with one hell of an itch to scratch. And as soon as we reunited with our authentic drummer, Clint Schnase, nicely, I assume I used to be feeling impressed.

Additionally, positive, the completely fucking bonkers fist fuck this world has been getting its pathetic, grasping rise of nationalism; yeah, that was driving me to place pen to paper as nicely. You’re feeling such as you're getting pushed round, you need to push again. Not that we're pushed solely by political frustrations, not within the least. However as to the surplus of songs as of late? Present occasions have definitely left their dirty fingerprints on among the music we've written these previous couple of years.

This to say that as Cursive was writing final yr’s album, Vitriola, there have been lots of songs to cope with. A LOT. Songs labored out within the follow area, songs stuffed within the studio, and stuffed many songs filling my voice memo to get an opportunity to introduce to the band. We had lots of squabbles over what ought to make it onto Vitriola, with too many songs lending an excessive amount of indecision. We grew to become increasingly insistent that it couldn’t be a double album we wished to offer these songs Even unleashing one regular size album onto our new hyper-scroll tradition may be daunting. Too many songs.

I do know, we separated the songs into two separate albums, inciting them, (By the way, Vitriola was dubbed Get Fastened earlier than we separated these songs, which left the titular monitor poised for later launch). With a yr in between these two releases, we had been in a position to get again to the file. launched the primary time round. Being granted the chance to spend extra time with this file makes it really feel even stronger (to us, on the very least).

We’re fairly pleased with the work we've completed on each Vitriola and Get Fastened. In sure methods, they might be thought-about as companion items, however Get fastened feels as if they had been emancipated from the Vitriola session: the additional care and a spotlight paid to it. These songs of anger, frustration, helplessness and loss really feel extra poignant to us now than even a yr in the past – we're thrilled to lastly introduces them to our world.

Solely my finest,

Tim Kasher


01 “Vultures”

02 “Barricades”

03 “I Am Goddamn”

04 “Stranded Satellite”

05 “Marigolds”

06 “Horror Is A Human Being”

07 “Black Gap City”

08 “Look What’s Grow to be Of Us”

09 “Get Fastened”

10 “Content material Conman”

11 “What’s Gotten Into You”

Get Fastened is out 10 / 11 through 15 Passenger Data. Pre-order it right here.

Here are the websites source page where you can get the source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here