Tri-Nation Series 2019: Ireland vs Bangladesh, Match 6


In the last match, Bangladesh beat Windies by five wickets and qualified for the finals of Tri-Nation ODI series. On a decent batting wicket, the likes of Mashrafe Mortaza and Mustafizur Rahman restricted the Carribean batting to 247. Thereafter, half-centuries from Soumya Sarkar and Mushfiqur Rahim guided the Tigers home with the 16 deliveries to spare.

This also means that irrespective of the result of the last league game Mortaza’s men will finish atop the points table. In the meantime, yesterday’s counter Ireland was knocked out of the series. William Porterfield and the team have nothing pride to play for now.

The last game of the league is scheduled to be played between Ireland and Bangladesh at the Clontarf Cricket Club Ground in Dublin.

Ireland may give Andy McBrine a chance in the place of George Dockrell who has not picked a wicket far up, giving away the runs with an economy rate of 6.87. Dockrell has not had much to do with the bat either. James McCollum scores a ton versus Bangladesh in the Warm-ups and he will be keen to deliver. The other responsibility will also be in the likes of Stirling, Porterfield and Kevin O Brien to steady the ship.

Abu Jayed did not have the greatest of the ODI debuts as he conceded 56 runs in his nine overs. Taskin Ahmed may get a go in the inconsequential match. Ruben Hossain only played one ODI in 2019 and management would want to give him some match time. Mustafizur Rahman return to form comes as a massive relief for the Tigers. Overall Bangladesh should be happy with how the team has come along.

The probable eleven players for Ireland was Paul Stirling, James McCollum, Andrew Balbirnie, William Porterfield (C), Kevin O’Brien, Mark Adair, Gary Wilson (WK), George Dockrell/Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Joshua Little, Boyd Rankin.

The probable eleven players for Bangladesh was Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed/Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman/Rubel Hossain.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here